Our Blog

Hailing from Helsinki, Finland, koriakittenriot is the solo project of Antti Reikko, lead singer of Johnny Superhero. Reikko has a strong list of musical influences, ranging from Elliott Smith, Wilco and The Flaming Lips to Sufjan Stevens, Bright Eyes, Nick Drake and Jon Auer.

The band’s debut album, Rich Men Poor Men Good Men, was recorded in Berlin with Doug Van Sloan (Bright Eyes, She & Him) taking care of the mastering. The songs are filled with detail, ambitious instrumentation and a sonic approach that’s reminiscent of Bright Eyes.

There are a number of standouts on the album, from the melancholic An Anthem From The 80’s to the sweet piano driven Sea. The lyrical themes on these tracks are all deeply personal and evoke some of the most intimate feelings in music, and it is Reikko’s heartfelt lyrics that shine through each song.

This is a great example of the kind of music that can only be made when a musician is truly committed to their craft and has a clear vision. It’s a refreshing sound that combines the intimacy of a songwriter with grandiose arrangements.

A very strong debut that’s sure to go down as one of the best albums of 2017.

KKR are back with a new record, Songs Of Hope And Science, which is released on 27th January via VILD Recordings. Taking their influences from Elliott Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel and early Weezer, the album explores the idea of combining Americana, indie rock and psychedelia. The thematically intertwined record is a hopeful and scientifically inspired collection of songs, borne from the experiences of a turbulent 2016.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!