Our Blog

koriakittenriot are a Finnish indie pop band with a happy mix of alternative pop and Americana influences. They are the brainchild of singer-songwriter Antti Reikko and include a mix of mandolin, acoustic guitar, synthesizer and glockenspiel.

KKR have recently released their third album, Rich Men Poor Men Good Men. The record is built around the experiences of Reikko and is their first full-band album.

About the band

Koria Kitten Riot is an indie pop band from Helsinki, Finland, led by singer-songwriter Antti Reikko. Their third album ‘ich Men Poor Men Good Men’ is an honest, beautifully crafted and melodic indie pop record with songs that are fun and optimistic but also reflect the seriousness of human experience in the modern world. They play a happy mixture of alternative pop and americana with singer/songwriter influences, but with an underlying theme of hope.

It’s no surprise that the mid-’00s saw the emergence of this cheerful, instrument-stuffed indie-pop genre, with bands like Annuals, Decemberists, and Grandaddy providing a healthy dose of this music. In ‘ich Men Poor Men Good Men’, the Finnish band Koria Kitten Riot pick up that torch and make it shine again. It’s a lot of fun and you should give it a listen. It will put a smile on your face and a glint in your eye. You’ll wonder why you waited so long to check them out. You’ll be glad you did. The album will reaffirm your faith that there is something to look forward to and that we are all on the right track.

Album ich Men Poor Men Good Men

Having wowed us with their first two records, Finnish indie pop quintet Koria Kitten Riot are set to impress again with their third. Fronted by songwriter Antti Reikko and featuring a full band, ich Men Poor Men Good Men is the band’s most ambitious and impressive release to date. The aforementioned ‘Sinners in the Sun’ might just be the album’s most memorable song, boasting one of the most impressive production values we’ve seen in a while. Other standouts include ‘Summits and Spills’, ‘Suits and Evening Gowns’ and the title track – a good indicator of the band’s penchant for experimentation.

Single The Earth Will Spin Around

Helsinki-based indie rock band Koria Kitten Riot return with their latest offering – the hook laden single The Earth Will Spin Around. Featuring an anthemic blend of piano and guitar, it is the first track to be released from their new album Songs of Hope and Science, set for release on 27th January via VILD Recordings.

The single is a fitting lead-in to the rest of the ‘Songs of Hope and Science’ which features an assortment of catchy tunes that don’t skimp on the production. Influenced by Elliott Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel and Wilco, the five-piece consisting of Antti Reikko, Lasse Toimi, Teemu Vanska, Olli Rahkonen and Eino Anttila deliver an album that combines the best of Americana, indie rock and psychedelia.

The album ain’t without its flaws but it does have an uplifting feel to it. Using gentle melodic songwriting and thoughtful lyrics, the band are not afraid to point out a few of the pitfalls in life whilst also reminding us that there is always something to look forward to – the most important adage is always to find the positives. The album is a rousing success and the only regret is that it took so long to get here. It is the best ‘Songs of Hope and Science’ I have heard to date.

Band members

A kaleidoscopic band that spans the whole spectrum of indie-folk, koriakittenriot are a Helsinki-based quintet helmed by Antti Reikko. He is a multi-instrumentalist, singing and writing the songs as well as playing guitar, piano, glockenspiel, mandolin, harmonica and percussion.

The band is comprised of Antti Reikko (singer/songwriter), Lasse Toimi (guitar), Teemu Vanska (bass), Olli Rahkonen (keyboards) and Eino Anttila (drums). They have influenced by Elliott Smith, Wilco and early Weezer, their latest release Songs of Hope and Science is an album that weaves Americana, indie rock and psychedelia together.

In addition to their musical influences, their lyrics are also reminiscent of Bob Dylan, with their songwriting approach similar to that of the late Bright Eyes frontman Mark Oliver Everett. With a sound that is both accessible and sophisticated, they are undoubtedly a band to watch.

Lead singer-songwriter Reikko has always been a strong influence on the band, but moving to a full band has given him a greater freedom of expression. With a fuller sound and a newfound room to breathe, Rich Men Poor Men Good Men has been their most honest and developed recording to date.

It is a highly enjoyable record, with the ethereal sounds of Suits & Evening Gowns, Cold Cold Arms and Between A Pillow And A Soft Place, all demonstrating their ability to deliver beautiful tunes that are both uplifting and deeply thought-provoking. They are certainly a band to be watched and we can only hope that more of their work will follow.

There is also a lot of room for the audience to get involved with the songwriting and Reikko regularly dissects each track on their Facebook page, clearly interested in sharing his experiences with listeners. This gives the album a real feeling of intimacy and a sonic quality that leaves a smile on your face and a glint in your eye.

Despite not getting the recognition that they deserve, the band have been working hard to create a new album. They are currently in the mixing and mastering stage, Reikko stated. They plan to record their next album at the end of this year. The release of this album will mark the start of an exciting new chapter for koriakittenriot.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!