Our Blog

Koria Kitten Riot are a Helsinki, Finland-based indie pop act with a strong sonic bent toward Elliott Smith and Bright Eyes. Fronted by singer-songwriter Antti Reikko, they’ve put together a lovely set of well-crafted songs.

This debut album is filled with the giddy, instrument-stuffed indie-pop that the mid-2000s saw coming into vogue. It’s the kind of music that’s easy to love whether you’re a fan of twee or serious vocals.

What is Koria Kitten Riot?

Located in Helsinki, Finland, koriakittenriot have their finger on the pulse of modern music making. Having previously toured their native country and Germany, this five piece are all about the craft of making songs that straddle the line between indie rock and singer-songwriter Americana. With a swagger worthy of the band’s frontman, Antti Reikko, they deliver well-crafted pop songs with grandiose arrangements that are sure to delight your ears.

The most important part of all is their ability to communicate their message in a manner that is both clear and concise. They have succeeded in a way that makes them a household name in the Finnish music scene. Their new album, Songs of Hope and Science, is a must listen for any fan of good music with a capital M.

Koria Kitten Riot’s music

Hailing from Helsinki, Finland, koriakittenriot are a guitar pop band led by Antti Reikko and consisting of Lasse Toimi (bass), Teemu Vanska (drums) and Olli Rahkonen. Their music is a mixture of indie rock, singer-songwriter Americana and psychedelia.

Their latest album, Songs of Hope and Science, was released on 27 January via VILD Recordings. The album tie-dye’s their guitar pop sound with a 60s folk rock flavour and good-old-fashioned harmony singing. Its lyrics travel between planets throughout the universe, intertwining hope and science.

KKR’s gentle melodic songwriting and thoughtful lyrics remind us that hope does indeed lie just around the corner. It’s a reminder that life isn’t always easy and dark, but that it’s worth sticking around for.

While their first two albums were mainly solo outputs from KKR lead singer Antti Reikko, their third album Rich Men Poor Men Good Men is the band’s first full-band release and the results of the band’s most honest and developed recordings to date. Having been told to “work f******g hard, be honest and make ballsy decisions”, Reikko has embraced the challenge and delivered his best work yet with KKR’s most mature and cohesive recording to date.

In an age of hip hop and electronic dance music, it’s rare to find a band that can offer up a catchy track with whimsical melodies and hopeful harmonies. Thankfully, the Finish indie rock band koriakittenriot have come through on this front with their new tune ‘The Laughing Man’ which is sure to put a smile on your face and a glint in your eye.

The band’s fourth album Songs of Hope and Science is set to be released on 27 January through VILD Recordings. Its themes are intertwined with hope and science, ideas brought on by a tumultuous 2016. The band’s lyrics are tied together by a 60s folk rock sound.

Koria Kitten Riot’s lyrics

The mid-’00s were a great time for quirky, instrument-stuffed indie-pop. Bands like Annuals, Decemberists, Grandaddy, and the Shins were putting out music that was very much on the cutting edge of what was being done in the indie-pop world at the time.

Finnish indie-folk band Koria Kitten Riot are a quintet who have built their sound around a blend of 60s folk rock, singer-songwriter Americana and psychedelia. With a lyrical style that pokes fun at humanity and highlights its weak points, they have a gentle melodic songwriting and thoughtful lyrics that point us all helpfully in the right direction.

They are a talented band and they have put together an album that is a delight to listen to. Its songs will make you feel happy and at ease, especially if you are in a particularly dark place in life.

Their third album is called Rich Men Poor Men Good Men and it is their first to feature a full band. Fronted by Antti Reikko, the band has a strong influence from Elliott Smith, Neutral Milk Hotel and Wilco. Their latest release was recorded in Berlin and mastered by Doug Van Sloan (Bright Eyes, She & Him). The songwriting is outstanding and it is well worth checking out. It will be released on 27th January 2017 via VILD Recordings. The song ‘The Earth Will Spin Around’ is the debut single from this release and it has already become an instant fan favourite.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!