Our Blog

Helsinki-based indie rock band Koria Kitten Riot return with their new album ‘Songs of Hope and Science’, out on 27th January via VILD Recordings. Fronted by singer-songwriter Antti Reikko, the five-piece consists of Lasse Toimi (guitar), Teemu Vanska (drums), Olli Rahkonen (bass), Eino Anttila (keyboards) and percussionist Tjarks Kuuskaaja.

This is their first album to feature a full band and features an incredible mix of Americana, indie rock and psychedelia. With influences including Elliott Smith, Wilco and early Weezer, this is the type of album that’s sure to get your heart racing.

Songs of Hope and Science -album review

The title track ‘Songs of Hope and Science’ is an absolute gem, with a hypnotic guitar line that leads to a beautifully constructed melody that makes you want to dance in your living room. It’s a gorgeous lyric-driven album that showcases the bands talent and love for songwriting.

You can hear Antti Reikko’s background in filmmaking through the bands bijou music videos, which are clearly influenced by Wes Anderson films. They have a sensitivity to detail that allows them to create stunningly beautiful and emotive music that can take you away from the world.

You can feel the chemistry between all members of the band on ‘Songs of Hope and Science’, with Antti Reikko’s lyrics and awe-inspiring vocals backed by an ingenious and inventive set of musicians. The songs are well-written and the melodies will stay with you long after you’ve finished listening to them.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!