Our Blog

Finnish indie pop quintet koriakittenriot (singer-songwriter Antti Reikko) are set to release their third album ‘Rich Men Poor Men Good Men’ on the 29th of August. Having sited The Flaming Lips, Elliott Smith and Wilco among their influences, the band have recorded in Berlin with Doug Van Sloan (Bright Eyes, She & Him) handling the mastering duties.

Despite the title of their new album, it’s an honest, heartfelt and developed recording. Lead singer-songwriter Reikko’s lyrics are a personal reflection of his experiences and the songwriting is superb.

The album’s title track ‘Rich Men Poor Men Good Men’ is a fine example of the band’s musical abilities, blending folk tones with sensitive indie-rock. It’s a lovely fusion of melodic songwriting with an element of whimsical wonder that is rarely found in indie-folk, or in the wider indie rock world for that matter!

There is a hint of death-cab for cutie in the opening tracks, while Cold Cold Arms possesses that same alt-country vibe that was rife in later Bright Eyes records. The band’s knack for songwriting and lyrical charm is infectious and their music can leave you feeling in awe at the magic they can create.

‘Songs of Hope and Science’ also has a very uplifting feel to it, reminding us all that life is not always as grim as it might appear, and that there is still plenty to look forward to in the future. The album is a beautifully crafted collection of songs that prod the frailty of humanity with an unwavering confidence and a healthy dose of hope.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!