Our Blog

The New Album: Songs of Hope and Science

Helsinki-based indie rock band koriakittenriot return with their first full album ‘Songs of Hope and Science’, available to stream on 27th January via VILD Recordings. It combines their folky sensibilities with the grandiose arrangements of Elliott Smith and Wilco, whilst retaining their underlying sense of hope and wonder.

‘Songs of Hope and Science’ is the debut studio recording by indie-folk Finnish quintet koriakittenriot, led by singer-songwriter Antti Reikko. It’s a collection of well-crafted pop songs, full of detail and ambitious instrumentation that puts together the intimacy of the songwriter with grandiose arrangements that can recall Bright Eyes in the latter part of their career.

The lead single ‘The Earth Will Spin Around’ was written after Reikko was deeply betrayed in his personal life, and the resulting song is anthemic and uplifting. It encapsulates a multitude of musical elements, with anthemic harmonies and mellotron blending perfectly to create a lighthearted anthem.

‘Breathe’ is the second track on the album. It’s a delicate and heartfelt tune that finds Reikko seeking to re-awaken his musical senses. The lyrics reflect his desire to connect with the people he loves, and his wish that his love will last long after his death.

‘Songs of Hope and Science’ does not feel like a traditional indie-rock album, and it’s hard to find a similar combination of music that reflects the band’s emotional state. Instead, it’s a warm and inviting record that touches on hope and science and their impact on our lives.

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!